Knife review: A Saami knife from Ilkka Seikku

The Weekend Woodsman

Prior to my trip to Lapland last year, I commissioned seasoned knife maker Ilkka Seikku to craft me a Saami-style big knife. I wanted to have a knife that would be “native” to the place I would be going. I was very pleased with the results when I received the knife (especially considering the fact that he made it on very short notice).

As with a lot of my other gear, I like things that are traditional and simple in design, yet attractive and, most importantly, functional. Ilkka didn’t disappoint me here. The handle is made of curly birch and antler with leather spacers, the blade is high carbon steel with a convex grind and the sheath is cowhide with a carved wooden insert to protect both the edge and the user. Though the blade is about 9 inches/23 centimeters long and 0.2 inches/5 millimeters thick, the knife is surprisingly…

View original post 459 more words

Leave a Reply

